Where are "Schedules" and "Rules" stored?

I asked this question a few weeks ago on the Facebook community page, but I think it got lost amongst all the posts…
Where exactly are “Schedule” entries stored? I understand that “Rules” are stored on Wyze servers, but what about Schedules? Specifically, I’m concerned about the plug devices. The reason I ask is because, if you tap the little ‘info’ icon within the Schedule section, it says that Schedules will continue to run, even if not connected to the internet. So, that implies that something is stored within the plug firmware itself.
However…IF something is stored in the plug, wouldn’t that be readable by shared users of the plug? My son-in-law and I were trying to share a plug to control something. If I create schedules for the plug, they seem to run as expected – but he could not see them. (That implies that schedules are stored in the app or on Wyze servers, but NOT in the plug itself).

Regarding “Rules” – If they are on the server, shouldn’t they also be visible to the two of us who share the plug? But I didn’t see his rules or schedules, and he didn’t see mine. This seems to suggest that they are really stored in the APP, so each of us have our own rules/schedules, or they are stored on Wyze servers…but specific to each user account. If stored within my app, it also implies that my app has to have internet access in order to run a rule – so, what happens if my phone is offline or dead? Will my rules run? Will my schedules run?

It is my understanding that Rules are stored on the Wyze Servers and displayed within the app for use / Modifications / etc.

Those devices, which allow Schedules, are on the device. Therefore, when not internet is available, they will still function. For example, the Wyze Plug has the ability to set a schedule. The plug schedule will function regardless if you are connected to the internet.

Also note: If you are using different accounts, Rules are stored for that user. I have found that certain rules can be set up with a shared device. So, as the primary owner, you can have one set of rules and as a shared user, they can have a different rule. But not all actions are allowed.

1 Like

Your phone and app only have to have internet to program the Rule. Once set, the phone and app are not needed. The Rule is saved on the server in your account and executed to the device from the server thru the internet. Therefore, the device must have internet access, but not your phone or app. This applies to all types of Rules, including Schedule Rules. And, since the Rules are account specific, only the account creating them can see them.

The screenshot you provided is for a Device Settings Schedule. These device schedules are saved on the device chip inside the unit and executed on the device regardless of internet status. Even though the schedule is saved on the device, it is still saved thru your account. Therefore, only your account can see it, much like Rules for a device set by your account.

Keep in mind though, Rules used on two different accounts for the same device, as well as local Device Schedules and Account Rules, have a habit of conflicting with each other when times overlap.

Thank you. That partially answers my questions. If schedules are stored within the device, what prevents a shared user from seeing them? They seem to also somehow be linked to just my account. As mentioned earlier, my son-in-law could not see the schedules I created.

To complicate this further, the plug is actually HIS plug – he shared it with me. I can make schedules for it, but he (the owner) cannot see them. This seems a little risky. It seems like there should either be limits on what a shared user can do, or at the very least, the owner should be able to see what shared users have changed on a device.

Thank you. When I mentioned “schedules,” Ii was referring to the device setting schedules, just as you pointed out. It may confuse some to realize that there are also “rules” of category type “schedule”…but I wasn’t considering those.

When you say that device schedules are saved “thru your account,” are you implying that each user of a shared device can create his/her own such schedules? While it seems handy for each user to be able to do so, it still also seems like a potential security issue is non-owners can add rules and schedules to any device without the owner’s knowledge. At the very least, it seems like this could be a good future wishlist improvement – give the owner power to grant or deny shared users from being able to create rules or schedules for the owner’s devices.

I certainly also agree that allowing multiple users to create potentially conflicting rules/schedules could lead to confusion and problems. I suppose it would be a major code change to make such rules and schedules shared and viewable by all device users.

Thanks again for your info.

1 Like

Yes. And while they are saved on the device, only the account that made them can see them. That is why you only give shared access to only select trusted people who won’t go tinkering around.

Already a long history of requests with over 1200 votes:

Where something is stored and whether someone has the “privilege” to view or change them are independent. I don’t know what Wyze does but you can’t assume that because something is stored somewhere, that has an impact on your ability to view or edit settings. Software is very flexible. Your app can be designed to retrieve and work with data regardless if it’s stored locally or in the cloud.

Regarding my experience with Wyze:
I don’t have any Wyze plugs. I can share my devices with others but they never have the ability to do more than view through cameras, turn on and off features (microphone, audio) but they never can set the configuration and schedule automation. All that said, Wyze can write the software for plugs to be able to do whatever their customers would like to. They could put in a privileged functionality so you could grant privileges to different users to whom you’ve shared your camera. The only concern is the cost of the software goes up as more features are added, so it may not be profitable to create what you’re asking for.