Unreliable detection zones

It has been windy lately so I set up a detection zone on one of my V3s.

I switched on motion tracking as well.

Trees that were in the dark grey area were still triggering events and notifications as shown by the green motion tracking square - this should not happen should it?

Also, there is a distinct decrease in sensitivity in the area not blanked out by the grey area. I have seen birds on Tinycam on a monitor that would normally trigger an event but no event is triggered when detection zone is switched on.

Unreliable - useless!

3 Likes

Show us a video example. Green box motion tracking is totally separate from alerts. it is a preset level, separate from your preference level. It will also show up in undefined detection zones. And you are using Tinycam, which I have no experience on what passes between the two.

2 Likes

I am using Tinycam just to monitor the video stream - I’m not sure how it would affect the operation of the events in Wyze.

It also happens if the tablet is switched off.

The green motion square is showing it had detected motion in the trees that are greyed out.

1 Like

You can’t get more convincing than that, @WyzeJasonJ,

1 Like

That is definitely frustrating when detection settings aren’t working as we intend.

I watched the video on a monitor, so I may have seen motion a little more easily than when viewing on a phone, but in the video there was some movement in the detection zone in the following areas:

The arrows are the ones with fairly significant motion. I don’t know what sensitivity level is set on the camera, but I do know that this much movement would trigger most of my cams unless maybe I turned the sensitivity level pretty low. But there are things we can probably do to help.