Person Detected when there is no person

I have been using Wyze devices for many years, and I recently invested more into the ecosystem by adding few more outdoor cameras including 2 flood light camera and extensions from them, but false “person detected” and unnecessary turn off of the flood lights, and not to mention missing recordings on the doorbell pro makes me want to reconsider the whole investment.
I really wanted to add Plus Pro for person detection but I would hate to be woken up in the middle of the night because Wyze thinks some video artifact or spider web is a person and turn on the alarms.

I am also missing the video on doorbell pro approach, sometimes the recorded video starts well into person ringing the bell.

1 Like

The AI is not perfect, and no AI is. Spider webs and bugs especially seem to really confuse it. Please use the “Submit this video to Wyze” feature whenever you can and are comfortable with it, as that really helps improve the AI.

You can also try using a detection zone to block out anything that may look like a person to the AI.

Thank you, I’ve been submitting every single video with false notice, but my main concern is that there is no green box where it detects “person”. I totally understand these are not 100% accurate but when I wake up to see several “person” detected in backyard at 3am, then 4am, it’s kinda scary and makes it less effective. The other issue is that light keeps coming on. I turned off the camera detection for the light, because I thought camera was more sensitive, should I disable PIR and switch back to camera detection for the light? It keeps coming on at night.

Regarding the doorbell, should I start a new thread or is there any troubleshooting I can do to fix this? I understand doorbell is not designed to be a security camera, so there is no MicroSD slot (I wish it did) but at least I would like to know or be notified when someone is approaching my door.

2 Likes