Alexa person notification from Wyze camera

I have several Wyze cameras that announces from Alexa that “Person Detected (Camera Name)”. I don’t remember how I set that up. I have a friend that really likes that. I purchased three V3 Cameras for him. I have the cameras set up and getting good pictures, now I am trying to get the announcement over Alexa. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Claude

Do you have Cam Plus for those cameras? Unfortunately, I am not an Alexa expert, so maybe someone else will chime in.

1 Like

Yes

Camera settings in the Alexa app.

2 Likes

WildBill, Thanks for the reply. This old 75 year old is a little slow. I went into the Alexa app, went to settings, have not found Announcements. Not sure what I’m doing wrong.

1 Like

First make sure you have/still have the WYZE skill installed in your Alexa app

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.theverge.com/platform/amp/2019/11/19/20972973/amazon-echo-alexa-how-to-add-skills-smart-home-games-sounds

After ensuring its there or installing/reinstalling go back to the main/home page of the Alexa app and go to devices.

Then Cameras,

Next find the camera that has Cam Plus or the older Person Detection(only V2 or Pan Cam, if opted in) licenses associated to them.

**Keep in mind the V3 cameras and Wyze Cam Outdoor do not have a live view so if you click on them you will be taken right to the settings page. As shown in @WildBill s example above.

The V2s and the Pan Cam have live views once you open it you will be taken to the live view and will need to click on the gear to the top right to get to the settings

There you can toggle on the the Person Announcement setting as shown in WildBill’s example.

4 Likes

Probably already configured since some cameras already work.

@mudpuppy45 go select the camera from devices then click the gear icon at the top to reach settings. It’s the camera settings not App.

1 Like

I thought that too, then saw “for a friend” :grinning:

Check out this section

3 Likes