WCO drains to zero in days, not weeks or months

My WCO battery drains to zero in a matter of days instead of weeks or months. I believe the issue is that it is detecting motion from the shadows of waving palm tree fronds (Florida!). What can I do make it better?

The solution starts with how you charge it. You must turn it off, then charge it from the base station or a outlet sourced connection. No portable battery, no laptop for example.

When you turn it on, even with heavy traffic, you should see better results. I have a SD Card in the Base. Only save clips. Make sure you do not have continuous recording set up. I do not have Cam Plus

I’ve had my 4 WCO for 1 year and have never turned them off while charging, I just turn event recording off when I move the camera. I have been doing scheduled event recording with the cams since February 2021 and the batteries still last at least 5-7 weeks for the heavy traffic cams, and much longer for the cams with lite traffic. I also have the IR lights turned on.

Mogli, how is the Wi-Fi signal to your camera? If you have a weak signal that will make the battery use go up. What version of firmware are you using and how old is the camera? Did you turn down the sensitivity on the cam? Many other questions and answers required. A screenshot the what the camera is looking at would be good also.

Good signal for my cams:

This is my history with WCO…Battery drains with Weak or No WiFi. Buy a Wasserstein Solar Panel to keep the battery charged.

1 Like

I am not familiar with this method. The WOC has a microUSB connector that is used to charge it. The base station has nothing to do with charging the WOC.

The full size usb a connector on the base can be used to connect your usb cable to. Connect one into the base and the other end to the WCO when you want to charge the WCO.

https://support.wyze.com/hc/en-us/articles/360037539752-Battery-Life-and-Charging

3 Likes

Duly noted.

1 Like