Sense Hub v1 and v2: how to identify?

Hi All,
I am quite new in the Wyze ecosystem currently owning only two Cam v3 and I am thinking on to set up a climate sensor into my summer house which triggers the temperature and turns on a flat heater - through Wyze Plug - when it drops just around freeze temp. I know I need the Sense Hub to make the sensor work but I do not need the subscription for that. If I found one to buy secondhand how can I recognize it is the Sense Hub v1 or v2 ? As far as I know the climate sensors do not work with v1. Is this right ?

1 Like

Welcome to the community @Vegha

The V1 is actually known as the Bridge. It connected directly to the back of a Wyze Cam V2. These are not sold anymore. the V2 Hub or Sense Hub is the one which works with the Home Monitoring System, this one:

In order to use it, you will need to subscribe to the Home Monitoring System (HMS) Monthly or yearly. This will allow you to get the hub and attach the sensors to it. You don’t have to renew the service to continue to use the hub. However, without service you will not be able to use the Keypad or the Siren located in the Hub.

You can build your plan by going here and stepping through the process

https://prod.services.wyze.com/purchase/hms/plan

3 Likes

If you can find one on EBay you don’t need to subscribe to anything.

2 Likes

Please be diligent in your search to purchase a second hand Sense Hub.

Make sure it is New In Sealed Box and the seller has a solid return policy.

These units do not have the ability to externally flash firmware or factory reset to the original production firmware. In the past, there were issues with firmware updates “bricking” hubs. This CANNOT be undone. You run the risk of purchasing a bricked hub second hand.