I would just like to add, the ability to limit permissions or assign permissions to shared users. In my particular case being able to disable a user’s ability to power off my camera. I only need a user to have the ability to see, not accidentally disable my camera used for security. I am simplifying the access matrix, But different permissions for a owner of the camera, and shared user (monitoring)
I agree that shared users should be able to NOT have to get the notifications from cameras that other people have shared with them. I am the Healthcare POA for a friend who has cancer, so initially it was critical for me to be able to see who was coming over to his house and for security reasons. He is doing better but still wants me to be able to check in on him in case I can’t reach him via phone. But I really don’t need to get a notification every time someone comes to his house, or the postal carrier or delivery services delivers stuff. Being able to turn off the notifications for HIS doorbell & cameras while still receiving them for my doorbell & selected cameras would be useful.
Welcome to the Forum, @davids.schwartzman! ![]()
As an Android user, you could employ a third-party app like BuzzKill, MacroDroid[1], or Tasker to intercept notifications. I agree with @carverofchoice (and others) that Wyze should include this ability (user control of notifications for shared-access devices) natively within the app so that iOS users could disable unwanted notifications, too, but in the meantime you might want to check out some of his posts in this topic (e.g., Multiple Users' Permissions for Shared Users - #1085 by carverofchoice) for ideas of how to do this now, without waiting for Wyze to implement this feature.
This is the only one I’ve personally tried so far. It can be tricky to figure out, but I’ve had good results with it. ↩︎
Probably the MOST ridiculous “feature” is the HUGE power off button on each of the favorites live streams. The shared user can accidentally tap that button and now you have NO events being recorded!
Who’s idea was it to make the “most convenient” feature to be accidentally turning off the PRIMARY REASON TO HAVE CAMERAS!
I’m getting pretty disgusted, if that’s not obvious. Having 18 of these cameras in an “ecosystem” i committed to three years ago HOPING THAT COMMON SENSE FIXES WOULD BE MADE, there are many BASIC things that should have been fixed ages ago. I’m always one incident away from throwing 18 cams up on ebay and switching to literally any other company.
Even if no permissions are ever configurable AT LEAST get rid of the giant power button on each “favorite” stream, so my shared users stop accidentally turning them of!!!
You might be interested in voting for and commenting in these related Wishlist topics:
Hah. No thanks. I’m convinced WYZE are complete morons. Zero logic to the interface functionality. And to top it off, hopelessly buggy. The only reason I still have eighteen of these garbage cameras is i dont have the time to replace them all.
would like an option to disable notifications for individual devices while still allowing the camera to detect motion and record events, similar to how Ring handles it. This would help reduce alert fatigue and anxiety from constant notifications while still keeping full motion capture and recordings active. (Shared Devices)
If I understand correctly, what you want can be done by accessing the “settings” menu, then the “Notifications” menu, and turning them off. This way everything will continue working, recording but without sending notifications about the events from that particular camera.
Yes. I ment to update with clarification. I was talking about the shared cameras.
Great news for some of you…some of us are Beta testing some updates for shared users to independently manage notifications. Check this out:
Hopefully there are more custom controls in progress!
Restrict shared user abilities
Is there anyway I can share a camera with someone, but they can’t change the setting or turn the camera off or on? It should be changed in my opinion. The owner of the account should be able to restrict what a shared user can do. Can you mention it to the people that can make changes? It is frustrating. Thank you for your time.
[Mod Note]: Your topic was merged to this Wishlist request for consistency in grouping similar requests and for better visibility to Wyze. Please remember to scroll up to the top and click the VOTE button to show your support.
I am watching my nieces guinea pigs. All I want to do is give her access to the video and turn off the audio. This way she can see the guinea pigs, but not hear anything. I can’t figure out how to do this. This seems like a very basic feature, and more than that, this thread has been going on for 8+ years. Am I able to do this? Scrolling through the thousand+ messages, it looks like this STILL isn’t fixed.
FYI, some shared user updates just launched publicly in the newest app release:
This new feature that allows shared users to create their own schedules? Is there any way to turn this off and go back to the old method. I have all our cams shared with my wife, and now her phone is beeping like non-stop. I had all the notifications scheduled and now her notifications are always on. I guess I have to manage automations on her phone now too?? I get it, how some people could want this, but for me, it makes things too complicated
Unfortunately she’ll have to set her own notification preferences separately. Or you will have to do it for her.
Probably, But I wouldn’t recommend it. In some ways it’s more complicated to do that, and would likely only be an option for Android users. The short version is that you would have to uninstall the current app, then go to an app mirror site like APK mirror and download and older version of the Wyze app the that worked under the old way of doing things. Then in Google Play you would have to turn off automatic updates so that the app doesn’t automatically update to the new version again. One problem with this method is that you won’t be able to get new security updates or other things that might be important. I do have a cloned copy of an older app version for some specific purposes (I processed the cloning myself), but generally I would highly recommend nobody do that. It’s not worth the risk, and some devices start having problems or stop working correctly over time on the older app versions.
It’s much easier to just temporarily borrow your wife’s phone and manually change the notification settings for her about which kind of notification she wants to get on her phone. It’s a much better long-term solution than the other workarounds I could offer. I wish I had some better news for your preference.
I really need this feature as well. I manage a set of cameras and sensors for my family and need to share the system to family members and one thing we need is SD card access. we have cases where recordings longer than a minute or so are needed and the SD card is the best way. I hope they bring this back!