Is there a plan to allow the outdoor cam to connect using third party access points?

Hi,
I’m new to using Wyze products. I recently bought two Wyze plugs and am very happy with that product. I ordered the outdoor cams. I have a 5 acre lot and I use Unifi access points to completely cover the property with WiFi coverage. If I am reading the Wyze Cam Outdoor specs correctly it requires the Outdoor cams to communicate directly to the Wyze base station. This would limit the effect range of these cameras to the area covered by the base station. What is the range of a single base station? Is it on the road map to open this up for a scenario like mine?

-SithT

Hi @SithT, Welcome to the Wyze community! I will leave a link below with some information on how far an outdoor camera can be from its base station. I am not sure if it will help, but it is worth checking out.

1 Like

Awesome! Thanks for the information Illumination.

1 Like

No problem! Happy to help :grin::+1:

Welcome to the Wyze community @SithT!
Definitely take a look at the range information @Illumination provided!
If you can’t hard-wire the base or you need it closer to your camera(s), you can use a range extender with an ethernet port.
https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-Extender-External-Antennas-TL-WA855RE/dp/B0195Y0A42/ref=sr_1_5?crid=Q9Z246JYNOW5&dchild=1&keywords=tp+range+extender&qid=1604972546&s=electronics&sprefix=Tp+range+extender%2Celectronics%2C162&sr=1-5

1 Like