I am in information overload... sort of

I am just getting started in setting up a small home security system and I have purchased so far, a Cam Pan and two Wyze Cams V2 along with the Sense Starter Kit.

I am also using a Google Nest Hub and Google Home Mini. I just signed up for the IFTTT app and have it installed on my phone. I am going to use one of the cameras to watch my front porch and driveway and I want to use the IFTTT app to have it announce movement on my porch through my hub.

I am learning how to use the IFTTT app and so far, I have found two applets to use to activate the motion notification and to automatically turn all of that on when I leave my house. I know I have a lot to learn and I would like some help on setting up the hub with the front porch movement notification if I can get it, Thanks in advance for any assistance and for taking the time to read all of this.

Unfortunately, I don’t think this is possible at the moment. Google Home is available as an IFTTT trigger, but not an IFTTT action. And within the Google Home app, I think Google’s built-in routines can only be activated by voice, not by a device trigger. Both of those are due to design choices by Google, not by Wyze.

I could be wrong, so if someone is successfully doing this, let me know, but so far, I don’t think it’s possible. I don’t think it’s even possible for Wyze to add this functionality with Google at this point, unless Google opens up their ecosystem a bit more.

Wyze does seem to be working on a solution to do this with Alexa. A few of us were able to add our sensors into Alexa while they were still testing things, but they’ve stopped new users from adding their sensors until they get the implementation tested and certified with Amazon.

1 Like