Existing Doorbell Chime Box

Newbie here needing expert advice. When installing the Wyze Doorbell, what is the purpose of disconnecting the wires inside my existing chime box and twisting them together? Is it a deal-breaker to leave my existing chime box alone? Will that cause catastrophic damage or major malfunction? My existing chime box is not easy to get to, and I’m considering not touching it if possible. Thank you all in advance for the expertise!

The change in the chime box is to bypass the existing chime and add a fuse. It’s so the doorbell gets full power from the transformer. The way the doorbell wiring needs to be is not involving your existing chime, unlike other doorbell cameras which some do use the existing chime.

2 Likes

Thank you for explaining. My amateur interpretation is the Wyze Doorbell will not be damaged if I do not bypass the existing chime. However, my wiring setup will be missing a fuse, and as long as I am ok with this risk, it’s ok to do it this way. Is that correct? Thank you!

the doorbell will not work without bypassing the chime. Bypassing the chime is not a option, it’s a must. The fuse is just to protect the doorbell in case of high voltage

2 Likes

The Wyze Doorbell does not use the existing chime, it has its own. Why would you not want to bypass it? It’s needed to close the loop.

1 Like