Does the V3 have a 'cool down" like the V3 PRO?

I’m not good at searching… sorry. I don’t want the so-called “cool down” where one cannot record a segment for five seconds. Silly. Does the plain V3 have this “cool down” like the V3 Pro?

Is the cool down because the camera gets too hot if one runs it continuously?

The 5 minute Cool Down depends on what Wyze Service you have. Cam Plus, there are back to back recordings and no Cool Down periods (no delay between recordings). So the Wyze Cool Down is nothing to do with temperature. Here is a link with more info.

3 Likes

So the V3 (not pro) does “cool down”? If so, will strongly consider getting a different brand or model.

Terminology here. “Cool Down” has nothing to do with temperature in this case.

“Cool Down” in this case refers to a period of time where the camera does not send events to the cloud for storage.

This is entirely based on what level of cloud service you are playing for. If you have CamPlus, there is no Cool down at all. CamPlus Lite and no CamPlus of any type do have cool down times. The link a few posts ago explains that.

Also, local uSD card recordings have no cool down at all. If you have the local uSD card recording set to continuous, there will be continuous records to the uSD card. If you have the uSD card recording set to events only, the card will save any minute that has an event anywhere within that minute.

As far as temperature is concerned, I have had various Wyze cameras in my attic with a measured temperature of about 150 degrees F, mounted to my windshield of my truck in direct sun all day and only once had a camera stop working (and I don’t know if it was the camera or the power supply that stopped - it came back after cooling off).

4 Likes

If you don’t have a CamPlus subscription, all the cameras have a cool-down of 5 minutes (except maybe the outdoor cams). All can also record continuously to an sd card in the cameras (again except the outdoor cams).

2 Likes