Wyze Therm. with Carrier System?

Hey guys.

I tried for 3 hours to do this on my own and troubleshoot but I’m getting nowhere fast. I live in a complex with central air/heating. I hooked up the Wyze and while I got it to power up, it will not kick on the air/heat.

Here are the pics of how my setup runs when it is working. Only 2 wires (Red & Green) currently operate my Carrier thermostat. The White and Yellow as you can see were not connected and the Blue isn’t even stripped.

AT first I hooked up the C wire Adapter thinking I didnt have one, and thats the configuration when the system powers on, but doesn’t kick on the system. Should I even be using the C-Wire adapter? I’m thinking if I just strip the Blue Wire (Which I think is the C Wire) and connect it, would it work? I’m a total noob at this but I was hoping it would be super easy.

Please let me know from the pictures if anyone can help. Thanks!

You have a communicating module somewhere on your system. Probably in the outdoor unit, but could also be a box on the wall/ductwork near the furnace. You would need to disconnect the communicating module and switch it to standard operating mode in order to use it with the wyze.

1 Like

Wow, you are absolutely right. I found this box in the laundry room next to the furnace. So now what would I do with the config of this box? How would I enable standard operating mode? This won’t mess with anything else going on, will it?

Thanks!!

Your current thermostat is wirelessly communicating with that module.