What type of setup?

Good morning, I am new to security cameras and have a few questions. I need cameras for inside my house, I will be traveling for a few weeks and want to keep an eye on things and have things recorded. I was looking at these cameras because I like the look and they seem to be a great price. Do the cameras have motion sensors built in? How do you save the videos? Thank you for any replies.

1. They are not security cameras, as per Wyze.

2. They detect motion by looking at the video image but they do not have “PIR” sensors. Those are available separately.

3. You can save videos to an internal SD card. This only very rarely actually works for me.

4. Motion events can be stored on Wyze servers and downloaded, in just 12 second clips (with a 5 minute period of forced inactivity) or continuously at extra cost.

5. When you choose to save a clip it’s downloaded to your phone.

Contrary to Customer’s report on his #3, I have an SD card in all 19 of my Wyze cameras and have not any any issues watching the recorded video - either via the phone app, or when plugged into a computer. I have all 19 cameras set for continuous recording and all have High Endurance SD cards. Note that SD cards have a finite number of write cycles so they all will eventually fail. Cards designed for video will last longer. Further note that the few SD cards I bought from Wyze all died early deaths. I don’t recommend them.

1 Like

You will definitely get the unvarnished reports of many knowledgeable people with widely differing hardware, experiences and situations on this forum! :slightly_smiling_face:

Many people are having real and serious issues, and many are not. So your mileage may vary. If you do choose Wyze, definitely set it up and test it as much as possible before leaving town!

I will steal from of one review on Amazon - Not a security camera, but well worth the money for non-critical applications.