Router Pro - First Impressions

Hey All,

I just upgraded this past weekend to the Wyze Router Pro. I have 4 of them in the house, spread out to the main areas that devices connect. They are replacing a 5-node Google Wifi network. I am not a novice user.

In general, the basic setup was easy. Pairing the devices, getting the basics going all went well. I was able to add the additional satellite nodes and get them working with my Wired backhaul very easily. Throughput is great, especially with the 6E card that I added to my main gaming desktop just recently.

Observations:

• Some units get hotter than others. Not sure if that’s environmental or usage based.

• The organization of the UI in the Wyze app is…interesting. The overall structure of the menus could use some work. Some settings are clearly labelled and make sense, others do not. Here are a few of my suggestions:

• Rather than name the “device” on the Main Wyze device list after the root router, name it after the WiFi network or something else. This isn’t really important to me, just an odd observation.

• Combine the settings for the Root router and the overall WiFi network into a single area since they’re so closely linked, especially the IP Address settings.

• The LAN IP Section of the overall settings, Advanced Settings, IP Address doesn’t actually manage the LAN IP as that has to be done on the root router, as mentioned above. It has more to do with the overall network and should receive a new label and/or have the root router’s ip address configuration integrated. In addition:

• Put a note below “Automatic DHCP Server” that states the range for the automatic server.

• Change “Manual DHCP IP” to “Manual DHCP Range”