How reliable is Home Monitoring?

I have quite a few cameras and other home control devices. But I’m primarily interested in the Home Monitoring. I have been paying $47/mo, for almost 10 years for my current system. I finally came to the point where I said, “paying for what”? Originally I rationalized that it was because I was paying off the equipment they “supposedly” gave me for free. But that has long sense been paid off.

But the Home Monitoring used by Wyze, if 10 times less cost. So now I’m wondering how good it really is. I have been in test mode for over a month. I have been testing my system, along side my old system, to make sure I’m detecting and not generating false alarms.

It’s about time to go live, I don’t really need monitoring, because I get alerts to my phone and can call the police myself, but at such a low cost, it might be a good idea.

My system is simple:

• Sensors on all external doors (x3)
  • Sensors on all internal doors (x7)
  • Motion sensors in rooms but master bedroom, on all hallways, and stairs (x8)
  • Camera in all rooms but bathrooms (x7)
  • External cameras covering all sides of my home (x4)

Not all sensors are installed yet. Hope the system can handle these. I don’t need the cameras to do anything but record. But I think I can create a rule to turn on a camera siren, if any door to that room is opened, when armed.

So, regardless of how someone might enter my home, they will trip at least 2 sensors. Any entrance through a window, puts them in a room with a motion sensor, and a door sensor to get out of that room. So it’s pretty easy to just open a camera and see what’s going on.

How reliable is Home Monitoring?

You should scan the forum for Home Monitoring System, HMS, Hub, etc. Then you can make your own decision.

1 Like