Hooking up your wyze bulbs on 5g

Was having problems trying to hook up wyse bulbs on 5G Google mesh. My pixel phone preferred the 5G network over the 2.4 so what I had to do was use an old cell phone that would only connect to the 2.4 gigabyte network and download the Wyse app on it. I could then install my bulbs. After the install things behaved normally and I could control my bulbs from my main phone and Google home. Win. Just figured I would pass it on.

@UserCustomerGwen Any update on a fix for this? I have my bulbs but literally can’t set them up.

Oof. That would be tricky since my normal suggestion would be to move further away from the router. I’m sorry, I’d recommend contacting customer support to see if they have ideas. I’m pretty new at troubleshooting the bulbs and I apologize.

Submit a request – Wyze

Will try that method. With Dual routers the lamp SHOULD only look at the 2.4 but guess cheep parts not being able to not care what band keeps the price down and blood pressure high.

Use an old phone that only uses 2.4 wireless. No sim card needed. Install wyse app and sync up bulbs. Worked for me. Then use as normal from your more modern phone after that. Profit

The problem lies not in the bulb nor the dual routers. Your phone is the culprit. It will latch on to the 5g before it goes to 2.4 so either create a lot of distance between you and your router enough to get it to flip over to 2.4 (the hard way) or dig out an old phone pre 5g wifi capabilities and use that to sync wyze app to bulbs (much easier to click lamp on 3 times to start the sync process). Hope this helps. I was very bummed out when I saw it only worked on the 2.4 network and vowed to find a solution before I went to bed. Now I’m enjoying my bulbs on my 5g Google mesh network.

It seems like it might work if You just go into your phones settings and turn off auto reconnect to 5 G

1 Like