Hear me out!

I recently upgraded my router/modem to a different model. I went to go switch my wyze devices to the new network but realized this was not something that was possible. The only way to adjust this is to delete your wyze devices and re-add them. For example I finally got my wyze vacuum mapped perfectly, now I had to delete it start the process all over again. This needs to be addressed, all my light schedules and camera detection zones have to be set up again. If their is a way to do this let me know, but their should be an easy way to change networks within the app instead of having to delete and re-add everything. O and we need a dark mode too, am I right?

9 Likes

The best solution is to change the SSID/password in the new router to the previous one. I’ve been using the same SSID/password for several years through several routers

20 Likes

Good to know!

1 Like

Just set the new router with the same 2.4 GHz SSID and password as the old one. There is rarely any reason not to. This will make not only your Wyze devices but everything else on your network reconnect without any issue or any need to reconfigure anything else.

6 Likes

You didn’t need to delete them. You can just add them by running setup and then you don’t lose any of the settings.

8 Likes

I’ve never done that. Do you need to assign them the same names as previously used?

I should of posted this before i re added everything! Noted.

2 Likes

Yes, same names and all settings, rules and schedules still work.

3 Likes

That’s pretty neat, thanks. Somehow I’ve missed that until now. It does make changing networks easier (if for example you’re doing it for security - password change - reasons). Yet still a last resort if you don’t like climbing on ladders. :slight_smile:

There is that ladder thing. My cameras aren’t that high so not a big deal. The router change is easier, if you are allowed to change the settings and you know how to do so.

1 Like