WYZE Spotlight Kit Emits Noise on 156.0150MHz

I’m a ham radio operator and I have radio scanners running in my office.

I received the Wyze Cam Spotlight Kit today, and noticed my scanners stopping on a frequency of 156.0150MHz.

When I unplug the spotlight kit, the noise immediately goes away.

https://youtu.be/vNUTR1d0k3s

1. So what?

2. It’s probably the added load on the power supply, not the light or the camera.

3. So what?

The lack of directionality led me to think it’s the power supply. You could always try a different one.

I’m using the original power supply, and tries another v3 camera power supply with the same results.

I don’t understand what you mean by “So What ”

Try a non-Wyze USB supply to verify further.

Not a surprise to me? Switching power supplies use square waves. Square waves create an infinite series of odd harmonics, So pretty much interference on any band is possible.

1 Like

What I mean is so what that something related to the light is generating RF noise. If it’s not violating its license then what’s the problem? Just avoid that band. I can’t complain when I get WiFi interference from someone’s microwave…

Please stop trolling my post. You have no idea what you are talking about.

I am dismissing your complaint as irrelevant. Why does it matter that the device is emitting noise? Simply because your scanners notice it?

Because the FCC says so…

Have you tried an alternate USB power source other than a Wyze USB supply?

Have you tried another receiver than the scanners, some scanners are more susceptible to “RF birdies” than others. Have you tried a 2m transceiver on same frequency?

EDIT:
No interference on commercial Motorola 2-way or a Yaesu FT-8900 @ 156.015 MHz - Only interference on my cheap Uniden scanner and cheap Radio Shack scanner. Not a “Real” issue affecting public safety communications. (Had to go to neighbors whom had spotlights on his V3’s as I do not)

1 Like