Wyze Employee Spotlight - Sissi Zhang

Name: Sissi Zhang
Pronouns: She/Her/Hers
Team: Product Engineering
Role: Software Product Manager

1. Why did you choose Wyze (Why Wyze)?
I have always been passionate about IoT devices and smart home systems. My master’s degree from CMU was in Electrical and Computer Engineering, and I have done a few cool projects about IoT devices back in school. Wyze caught my eyes while I was job hunting because it is building all different types of smart home devices at a more reasonable price point. I would love to be part of it. On the other hand, I really enjoy working in a startup environment, while I can work closely with other people who share the same interest in building smart home systems to make people’s life easier.

2. What team are you on and what do they do?
I work as a Software Product Manager on the Software Platform team! The four major focuses on our team are Platform App, Platform Capabilities, Product Integrations, and Data and Metrics. We work with different teams and provide the Wyze experience as a whole on the platform level.

3. How long have you been with Wyze and what do you do here?
I’ve been at Wyze for 1.5 years. My responsibilities mostly relate to the Platform App and its corresponding data & metrics. Platform App includes features of the Wyze iOS and Android App on the platform level. For example, Widget on iOS 14 and Android, Notification Management, Feedback & Support on Wyze App, etc.

4. What’s your favorite thing about working at Wyze?
As a software PM at Wyze, I can be the product owner to create features and provide capabilities to help solve customer problems and change people’s daily life. In addition to that, I have the chance to work with other people from different departments who are passionate about smart home technologies.

5. How have Wyze product(s) impacted your life?