I think so, and what I suggested was more of a “peace of mind” thing: Sometimes even when the answer seems apparent and fairly obvious because of the way something is observed to be working it can still be helpful to some people to have those kinds of questions explicitly answered and spelled out. As a volunteer, I selfishly would like to see something like this so that I can have an official source to cite and point other users to when they have those questions, but I also think something like this would align with Wyze’s stated philosophy of being transparent and being friends with users.
Yeah, I think so. I was messin’ around with adb a few weeks ago and saw references to prod-sight-safe-auth.wyze.com in the logs. I just assumed it was already in use because of that observation and the notes in recent firmware releases.
I think that’s another key statement. My understanding of VerifiedView is that it’s operating between the user (user’s devices) and Wyze’s servers. Once you take content (videos) and save it locally, there is no longer any Wyze middleman that prevents your doing whatever you want with it. Security of the video (or whatever) at that point is your responsibility as a user. It’s kind of a “Who had it last?” game at that point.
That’s not how I interpret this statement:
I believe that’s saying that VerifiedView is not active in older app versions, so they’re not enforcing this additional security check when someone tries to access cloud content with an older app, but at some point they will enforce this additional measure, and at that time the older app versions will no longer be able to access the content that is coming from Wyze servers.