Question about Wyze devices and dependency on the cloud/Internet

I am new to Wyze but not to home automation. I want to receive clarification on whether or not Wyze products continue to function within the home with my local network online, even if my Internet connection goes down for some reason. Can I still view my camera feeds, will the sensors continue to work and perform their functions, etc.? I like having additional functionality enabled via the cloud, but for me, it is a requirement that all of my devices function at home and perform their jobs whether there is an Internet connection or not (minus those tasks which require the Internet such as uploading video clips to cloud storage, monitoring from outside the home, etc).

1 Like

With no internet the cameras will continue to record to an sd card, but there would be no way to view remotely and events will not record to the cloud.

Original sensors wont work without internet. The new sensors/base will work without internet (and the base has a backup battery so it will work without power.) But you will not get notifications without internet.

Thank you for the response! Yes, I understand that remote viewing and uploading of video to the cloud and other events dependent on the cloud would no longer work, but can I still view the video feeds, will current sensors still trigger actions/events, alarm continues to function locally, etc.from within my own home? Ultimately, I am also hoping for an API that will work with home automation systems, such as OpenHAB, so that all of the features work at home (independent of the cloud, such as SmartThings, Google Assistant, Amazon, which do not work at all without the Internet).

1 Like

Typically you cant view the video feed without internet as the app authorizes via wyze servers. Sometimes if you’re on the same lan it will still display because of a prior authorization but I wouldnt bank on it.

The current sensors rely solely on the internet, so without it you’re shot.