Continual "vehicle" notifications

I am new to Wyze, just bought my Outdoor Cam. Had it set up inside a window overlooking my driveway for a couple of days and just moved it outside today.

I just also signed up for Cam Plus. I am getting almost continuous “vehicle detected” notifications. When I view the clip, I see my two parked vehicles. In one clip, a bird flew across the driveway. In the other clips - NO movement.

My detection distance and sensitivity are the highest settings. I have set a detection zone that (I think) covers the entire camera view area except for the roadway to the upper right of the screen. I say “I think” because the instructions say that the zone is what’s in gray, but selected is gray and unselected is light gray, so I’m not sure what’s “on” and what’s “off.”

My Cam Plus settings are to detect motion. Smart Detection was just turned OFF for person, package, vehicle and pet.

Why do I keep getting event notifications for vehicles that are not moving?

1 Like

Short answer, because it sees a vehicle. Longer more detailed answer involves the current way that the AI works. When your cam detects motion, depending on the cam it would be by a PIR sensor or by difference in pixels in others. It then sends that video to the cloud so the AI can ‘look’ at it. It looks to see if there are people, pets, packages, or vehicles, it currently does not have the ability to see if the vehicle is moving. So unfortunately you will get a vehicle detection every time that cam detects motion and the vehicle is in your driveway.

2 Likes

@WyzeJasonJ That makes sense except that, in the majority of the resulting clips - there is NO motion. None. It’s a concrete driveway with parked cars.

1 Like