Motion sensitivity on Low still too high

Hi all. I have set all of my cameras to Low motion sensitivity, yet I’m still getting alerts for ambient light changes such as the clouds temporarily occluding the sun changing the lighting in the area the camera covers. It would be nice if we could see actual movement only.

The product team has stated that they are working on the ability to mask the motion detection area, which would solve or at least improve your issue. I have no knowledge of when this work might be complete.

Masking won’t help at all with the issue OP has with lighting.

Doing pixel based compares is just incredibly error prone. They need to switch to vector processing, but, unsure if they can do that, or if the CPU is fast enough.

I’m having the same issue as well. Ambient light changes from a window in my garage results in many ‘false’ alerts.

1 Like

Ditto for me. Dozens of notifications daily due to shadows changing because of cloud cover fluctuations. Running latest Beta.

Will we be able to adjust the motion sensitive area with existing cameras? Maybe I misread the email about improved motion sensitivity, with the new cameras coming out soon but it sounded like that’s available only with the new cameras implying it’s not available with existing cams. It wasn’t clear. Are the new features only available for new cameras?

I’m having the same problem. I’m not sure if it can be fixed, it may just be something we have to live with. I’ve tried the low setting but when ambient light changes, a lot of pixels change.

Same Issue. Every time a cloud passes in front of the sun I get a notification on low sensitivity. Had to disable push notifications because I am getting an alert every few minutes.

Just want to add that I struggle with the same issue of localized light intensity changes triggering the motion alerts. Also want to backup and support what @ShadowCam stated.