Thermostat wiring - C wire - How does it work?

I’m having a confusion moment while I anxiously await the shipping and delivery of my thermostat. ( Mid December is here! it should be any day now)

My understanding of the wiring is it wont work on a standard 2 thermostat wire system ( which is simply a switch connecting the 2 wires together) because it needs a 3rd “c” wire added which supplies 24vac to light up the thermostat( and memory I would assume)
so My question is, Only the 3rd 24vac wire is needed? it doesnt need a ground wire? how does that work?

Did you run the compatibility test? I didn’t think a 2 conductor wire was enough. Regardless, if you don’t have a C wire the Wyze thermostat includes a C wire adapter. I’m no expert but I don’t think the C wire actually provides the power, I think it’s the return that works with the power wire.

now Im more confused, I previously had asked what the C wire was for and was told it provided power to the thermostat ( VS using a battery which isnt an option) and other reading I thought I saw it was 24vac. Is that wrong?
As far as the actual wire, I have 18/5 but currently only 2 wires are used and at the current thermostat end its labeled Y and RH. A new furnace was just installed and I had hoped the new thermostat would have been here in time to be installed at the same time, but it wasnt. The new furnace does have a 24vac transformer and I was wondering if I could just hook to that as a C wire?
So now I guess Im back to being totally lost since none of the terminals in the furnace itself have any of the label options in the compatibility test.