Ifttt help

I apologize in advance if this has been asked before. I just received my sense and am installing it on a back door. I have it working to turn on the garage light when it opens. That works great for letting the dogs out at night. I didnt know if there was a way to limit the light coming on between the hours of 7pm and 1am, that way I am not wasting electricity of the light coming on during the day when I let them out. TIA for your help. Joe.

1 Like

As of now, there is no easy way to put “hours” on sensors or motion detectors. WYZE is working on maybe adding that option in future APP releases.

There is a way of doing it, but you have to write your own IFTTT app to use Javascript. But it’s actually not as scary as it sounds, I’m not a programmer, and I had it figured out within about 20 minutes. I didn’t write the javascript for the time window, I saw it in Reddit post.

You write the app using http://platform.ifttt.com. It’s free, if you are writing the app for your own use (i.e. you do not publish it). You set the usual “If this”, “then that” parameters, but there is a window between the two to insert the code.

This is the script I used to turn on my Wemo switch (connected to a light) when motion is detected, but only between 10:00PM (22 hours) and 5:00AM. Don’t worry about the specifics for turning on your device, when you set up your “then that” target, it gives you a list of commands for that target:

var timeOfDay = Meta.currentUserTime.hour()
if (timeOfDay >= 22 || timeOfDay < 5 ) {
// Will Continue as Normal
} else {
// Skip setting scene
WemoSwitch.attributeSocketOnDiscrete.skip()
}

1 Like

Hi Ron … I know about the method described in Reddit … but as I said, there is no easy way.

You need to write a series of IFTTT calls to pull it off. To most people, the formula looks like Greek so most will want to wait until WYZE makes an easier solution.