I’m not sure which update you mean or what seems to be missing, so specific detail might be helpful.
I also don’t have the original Scale, and I don’t know if it uses the same plugin as other Wyze scales, but things seem to be working as expected with my Scale S using app v3.18.0.918 (Android), Plugin Version 3.18.0.5, and Firmware Version 1.0.107. From the Scale S’s plugin page, I can tap Settings ➜ Users to see a list with user images. I can tap to select a user and see a Member Info screen, and I have an Edit button at the top-right corner. If I tap that but am out of Bluetooth range, then the app shows me an “Activate the scale and connect to it” message. If I take my phone within Bluetooth range and connect to the scale, then I can tap Edit and start to make changes, including the “Profile Photo” field. While I’m in edit mode, that button changes to Save. I can select a different image from the album on my phone, tap Save, and then see a “Save Success” message. When I navigate back to the Users screen, I then see that the image has changed for that user.
If I try the same process in a slightly older app version (v3.16.0.890, Plugin Version 3.16.0.6), I see the “Save Success” message at the end, but the image associated with that user doesn’t actually change.
For me, this experience is repeatable on two different phones (running two different app versions).
Again, this is why it’s important to explicitly note what version(s) you’re using (app, plugin, firmware, etc.). If your issue is with something else, then sharing exact details of the steps you’re taking would provide more information.