Am I breaking the law?

I leave my v2 permanently attached to a metal object in the corner of my living room. As it is recording video with sound on my mini-SD card 24/7 am I required to inform visitors to my home that they are being recorded. The camera is visible if you happen to notice it, otherwise it is just sits there rather unobtrusively. Also there is the possibility that someone could complain that they were being recorded without permission. This could be problematic if there was a private conversation taking place while I wasn’t in the room. I would appreciate hearing an opinion about this.

I’m no lawyer, but I suspect the answer depends on where (state) you are.

If in Russia, you’d be sent to the Gulag :grin:

1 Like

The answer would depend on what state you are in and possibly if you own or rent

1 Like

Hey Jerry,

While we can’t provide you with legal advice; we do recommend checking with your local and state legislature regarding the issue.

Best,

Kenner

There are two types of consent that apply to audio recordings. Single-Party Consent and Double-Party Consent. If you live in a double-party consent state, you need their consent before you can record their conversations. Most states don’t require consent for video recording in areas that wouldn’t be considered private.

I live in a Double-Party Consent state so I have the audio recording turned off on my cameras. I also have a sign near my front door stating that we have video recording on the premises. I don’t have any cameras within bedrooms or near bathrooms.

If you’re really concerned, you should contact either a property liability lawyer or a personal rights lawyer. Though, I suspect each of those will give you different advice.

1 Like

One thing about consent laws – they always require you to be part of the conversation. If you leave the room, you are not part of the conversation. Maybe there is an exception because it is your house, but I’d definitely check with a lawyer.